Industry Blogging, the Lazy Way

This isn’t my first time to the Blogging Rodeo. I’ve left dead blogs littered in my wake, long before they were even called ‘blogs!’ Granted, the content was rather predictable on them. Fan Fiction and long tirades overanalyzing B-rate sci-fi television and angry teenager rantings (good luck finding those, by the way). Why wouldn’t it be that way? It was what I read, after all. Also, it was [redacted] years ago in a brain space far, far away. I don’t do that anymore. I did what most do (or should do), and that was grow up. I found industry blogs fascinating and more than a little intimidating. Frankly, there’s nothing I can say about code that would be groundbreaking or even passable breakfast reading for most engineers. So I never bothered to break into that field.

Then I signed up for the Technovation Challenge, a great mentorship program for High School girls to turn them into good programmers. I got really excited. I wanted to blog about this but I had retired my accounts long ago.I wanted to document the experience for myself and address a lot of similar topics like how much I needed a program like this in High School, or why I hate the topic, ‘Why is Engineering such a male dominated industry?’ or the millions of topics in between both in gender-industry issues and technology itself! Not to mention the past year I’ve helped my less confident female friends review their resumes and coach them for interviews and elevator pitches. Apparently, I have a bit to share. So yes, I made a new one.

Also, because I am a total sucker, I saw a badge for a Post-a-Week Challenge, so yeah, I got that too.

By the way, post a week a year? My year starts in February. Not just part of this challenge! Odd note, January always seemed to be an extention of whatever I was doing in December. This year, it’s Postseason. Before, when I worked Retail, it was 13th month. So yes. The year starts … now!

Leave a comment